top of page

Envisioning a vision board:

I get goosebumps when I look at my vision board. It's like a time-warped one-way mirror into which I can glimpse my future. And my past. Certainly my present. Time travel in all directions.

On this visual representation of my goals it's almost as if time stands still for me. Long enough so that I can create moments: long, luxurious, comfortable, inspiring, happy moments that envelope me in a safe and content, MEANINGFUL, future self.

This is the power of hope. And faith, and belief. It is a real power, with real results. 

And yet, time carries on. At a pace that rivals that of an Indy racer in the final stretch of the 500 lap, tie-breaking, award-winning Grand Prix. (I know very little about racing. It's never been on my vision board.) There is no stopping, nor slowing, of time. 

My intended, and also stolen, moments spent longingly gazing at my vision board allow me to stay rooted, to stand steadfast, to breathe, inhale and exhale. To breathe in my future. And my present. And my past. Without despising or dreading any of it. 

There are pieces of my life that tie in succinctly with my dreams and goals and aspirations. Many newspaper and magazine clippings on this board are now realities in my life. Many more are yet a corner's turn away. 

Materially, emotionally, spiritually, and financially - all four corners of my life are represented. I have no embarrassment, absolutely no shame, and a lot of pride and excitement when I glance at the storyboard that is my life. 

There are immediate and absolute correlations between the certainty of creating a vision board and the certainty of the progression of your life. 

The vision board changes as do the seasons of the year. Before this blog article was even finished being written, I already altered my story board. I added a Starbucks logo, and a picture of my now one-year-old daughter (yes, in that order).

Someone, somewhere, at some point, said, "if you don't decide where you are going, someone else will decide for you." Best bet is, they aren't using your vision board to make that decision. 

All the "greats," and a thousand more "not-greats," will tell you how successful their lives have turned out to be BECAUSE they believed in the power of a vision board. 

Placebo effect or not - it works. You have nothing to lose except an hour of your time, some old magazines, and maybe a pair of scizzors. And a glue stick. 


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page